This weekend’s Ford Championship Weekend at Homestead-Miami Speedway will determine not only the Sprint Cup champion, but also the champions of the Xfinity Series and the Camping World Truck Series, both of which are using a Chase “playoff” format to determine the winner for the first time.

In the Truck Series, veterans Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton and Timothy Peters will square off against rookie Christopher Bell for the title. In the Xfinity Series, Elliott Sadler, Erik Jones, Justin Allgaier and Daniel Suarez will compete for a championship.

The Xfinity championship has come down to a battle between two teams as Suarez and Jones both drive for Joe Gibbs Racing, while Allgaier and Sadler race for JR Motorsports.

JR Motorsports’ race operations manager, Mike Bumgarner, will serve as crew chief for Sadler after his regular crew chief, Kevin Meendering, was suspended because of loose lugs found on Sadler’s car following last Saturday’s race at Phoenix.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.